3 hilly miles are better than nothing

So 2019 started well with regular short runs until illness took over our house.

I so can’t wait to see the back of this germ infested winter. I forgot how ill a baby gets in their first winter at a nursery. My son since October has had about 7 ear infections with 3 of those popping his eardrum, 10 different colds, 3 vomiting bugs, 1 stomach bug, hand foot and mouth and chicken pox. Practically something every day. So, of course, the lack of sleep means lack of runs. But as it starts to heat up and the daffodils start poking up above the frozen ground I’m starting to dust off my trainers.

I’m only up to 3 miles, but they’re 3 hilly miles which is good. Only very slow though, at best it’s 9:50 minute mile but it feels good to be out for nearly 30 minutes. I started off at Christmas doing just half a mile, twice a week so considering the stop start nature of the last two months I’ve not done too bad. My aim is to get to 5 miles by spring then I can focus on some speed drills, then potentially join the local running club Holmfirth Harriers

As a summer goal, I’ve got my eyes set on this lovely hill outside my little boy’s bedroom window. I’m going to run to the top and wave back to the kids. I can picture my tiny little head at the top, they’ll have to use binoculars!  I’m going to have to find out what it’s called and learn how to read a map to get up there or maybe GPS will work who knows, anyway I aim to be up there by the summer. It’ll be my first Holmfirth adventure.

holmfirth

Leave a comment