Respect what you got

I’ve not written for quite some time. Probably because I have no running goals or targets at the moment. I’ve read a lot recently about training and form and wanted to share an eye opener.

I thought that pushing faster than my training schedule was a good thing, push hard and you get quicker, faster. But to quote Jeff Gaudette from Runners Connect….

“When you push too far beyond your lactate threshold pace, you prevent your body from learning how to effectively clear lactate.

Instead of becoming more efficient by handling a moderate and consistent amount of lactate, your body is flooded. It isn’t able to benefit from a prolonged period of lactate clearance.

By speeding up, you don’t achieve the benefits of the workout and actually walk away from your tempo run less fit than you would have by staying on the prescribed pace.”

The long runs I was meant to take slower to build endurance I ran at marathon pace and that didn’t do me any good either. I pushed speed and distance at the same time. That’s why even in March I’m struggling to find my running form.

Back in January I ran to work which is 5 miles practically up hill and I ran back home again. It was fine and I enjoyed it but a couple of weeks later I got really ill. This set me back a lot. All the energy had gone and I could barely get through a day never mind think of running.

So all this pushing has affected my health too. My heart’s been doing strange things and whilst I’m still waiting on results (which will all be ok I’m sure) the consultant thinks it’s because I trained too hard last summer.

I’ve been taking it steady recently. Running just 2-3 times a week at a sensible pace, joined mostly by a friend which makes it even more enjoyable.

So last week I ran 6.5 miles at 9.15 pace around Fremantle in Western Australia. We’re here visting a friend and it was lovely to be out at 6.30am and run along the swan river. I checked my pace every now and again but generally I didn’t care. I was just enjoying the scenery.

Now on my flight over to Sydney today, where I’m looking forward to running the coogee to bondi beach coastal trail, I watched the film Gleason. It’s an emotional, inspirational story about the American footballer called Steve Gleason who got ALS a couple of years after he retired. ALS is a disease of the nervous system where the brain stops sending messages to the body to move, talk and breathe.

It was emotional to watch, the thought of losing the ability to do what comes so natural is unbearable. But it’s a reality for lots of people like Steve Gleason. It’s made me realise I need to respect this body and listen to it.

There are some amazing people out there and what Team Gleason do to help people with these types of diseases through technology is phenomenal. I want to support his cause so I’ll be asking people to dig deep for my next challenge!!!

 

Leave a Reply

