Beginner’s running rules

I love running. Even after just a few hours sleep a run fills you with energy. You just need someone to push you out the door as it’s the last thing you want to do. You can’t beat that natural high at the end of the run though so it’s always worth just saying I’ll go for 10 minutes as it always ends up being about 30.

So my beginners schedule is going well. Makes such a difference having clear goals that you can achieve every time you run. It’s stopped me trying to run like I was on top form and killing myself in the process. Instead I’m making progress every week and I’m only 3lb off my goal weight. whoop whoop! Nothing beats running and a healthy diet for losing weight I reckon.

So the schedule below (courtesy of runner’s world) has worked for me. I started on week 3 (had to push myself) and I’m just repeating week 4 at the minute. It’s been a very busy time since I last post but now I’m organised I’m running 3 times a week at least.

  • Week 1 Run one min, walk 90 seconds. Repeat eight times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 2 Run two mins, walk one min. Repeat seven times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 3 Run three mins walk one mins. Repeat six times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 4 Run five mins, walk two mins. Repeat four times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 5 Run eight mins, walk two mins. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 6 Run 12 mins, walk one min. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 7 Run 15 mins, walk one min, Run fifteen mins. Do three times a week
  • Week 8 Run 30 mins continuously.

Last week I ran past my running club’s group leader, Trish and a few others. They were shouting abuse as when I passed them, both times I was on the walking bit. I got so much stick but I said I was doing interval training (!) It’s kind of true as it’s programmed in my Garmin as interval – just not speedy ones!

Last night was freezing after such a beautiful sunny day. While I was waiting for my satellite connection on the Garmin (takes too long) I saw a power walker at the end of my road. I thought if I see her on the way I have to over take her – got to put some competitiveness into the run. I saw her on my first session so caught up with her and just as I sprinted past and did a silent, “yees!” my Garmin beeped for the end of the 5 minute sesh so I had to walk (was knackered anyway) and guess what she power walked past me…she must’ve thought I was a right d*ck! When the clock started again though I comfortably ran past her and kept ahead for the rest of the run. I won!

My best pace for the 5 minutes slot was 9 minute last night, when I was doing the 3 minute intervals it was 8.44. I’m running up hills now so it’s not a super easy route. Exactly a year ago I was running a consistent 8.17 pace so I’m not too far off.

But it’s not about speed it’s about time and that’s why it’s so enjoyable. Before I know it I’ve been out for 28 mins and covered 2.5 miles.

Leave a comment