Getting back to fitness

So it’s been 6 months since I posted and about 7 months since I’ve run. I’ve gone from the fittest I’ve ever been to rock bottom on the old fitness scale. It was all for a good cause though, I gave birth to our beautiful daughter at the end of November.

A couple of weeks ago I got the all clear from the doctor so I went out for my first run on Friday 20 December. I lasted just 10 minutes, not through fitness more through fear of peeing myself! While it’ll take a while for that fear to go I was made up to be out running in the gale force winds and teaming down rain. For 10 minutes I felt like the old me and was high as a kite for the rest of the night.

My second run went better on my birthday (28 December). I was out for 20 minutes before I got the fear so maybe next week I’ll get to 30 mins?

So the aim for 2014 is to do the Leeds half in May and a marathon in October …..if I feel ready. Wise words from my brother not to put pressure on myself and book a marathon. I’m going to see how having a baby and finding time to run work together before starting a 4 month training plan.

This blog then will track my progress and hopefully share some tips on getting from rock bottom fitness to achieving your PBs in 2014. And for the first time in my life I need to proactively lose weight….just under a stone. I need to do it sensibly and slowly. So I’m a tubbier runner with new issues….like muffin top visible through snug running gear. Unfortunately my abs have separated and not fused back together yet (Diastasis Rectiso I can’t do the famous Tracy Anderson DVD until that’s sorted. I’m hoping that’s the answer to muffin top. 

So with New Year just over 24 hours away, here’s to a fit and healthy 2014…..the year of the PB.

Leave a Reply

