The hardest thing is getting out the door

Being short, a daily wearer of heels, non lover of carbs and a constant sufferer of itb pain I’m not exactly ace running material. But I did my first marathon last month in 3hrs 58 and loved every minute… well maybe not mile 22 and 23 if I’m honest, I wasn’t  prepared for that.

I’ve been training since last October gradually increasing my mileage and I’ve read loads, watched videos and spoke to many runners. I’ve learned a lot about form, nutrition, speed and self belief. So I’ve got all this knowledge in my head and thought someone out there might find it useful. I’ve also got a rubbish memory so it’s a good record for me too. I’ve got to warn you though, my facts might not be 100% accurate so don’t take anything you read as gospel. I also have a tendency to exaggerate but you’ll get on to those bits quite quickly.

So if you’re a runner and thinking about upping the mileage to a half or full marathon you’ll hopefully find my blog useful.

I’ve always wanted to run a marathon but I never believed I could. Once I got that belief I knew I’d do it. I’m very competitive, more with myself really so once I’ve got something in my head I won’t give up….a useful trait when running long distance.

So where do you start when you decide to run long distance?

  1. Download a good training plan. Runners World do great ones based on your target finish time http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/racing/find-a-training-plan/4521.html I did the intermediate for a sub 4 hour and you run about 4 times a week, a mix of tempo, interval runs, hills and long distance. Then you’ll do one cross training session which can be spinning, swimming, circuit training, zumba, anything cardio that uses different muscle groups.
  2. Put your plan on the fridge or somewhere you’ll see it every day. Set a date to start and stick to it. It’s so true that the hardest thing for a runner is getting out the door but once you’re out you’ll never say, ‘I wish I never bothered’ I guess I’ve only done that once when I went out with a chesty cough and it made me quite ill but you’ll know the difference between feeling tired and being ill.
  3. Just say you’ll go for 10 The last thing I’ll say is that on those days when you don’t want to go out, and it’s raining, and cold, it’s late or you’ve had a hard day at work just say to yourself you’ll go out for 10 minutes. Chances are you’ll stay out longer but saying 10 is more motivating than an hour and it gets you out the door.

For more motivation I think this is a boss one to get your mind into what you want to achieve. How bad do you want it?  I can’t stand cheesy inspirational stuff but this is first class. Get onto twitter too, but loads of runners tweeting really helps I’m @jolwhite so you can see the types I follow there.

And remember if you really want to do something you can. The feeling you get when you cross the line is unbeatable, that sense of achievement followed by the pain and pure emotion is something you’ll never forget.

One response to “The hardest thing is getting out the door

Leave a Reply

